Tracy and Mackenzie

This post is overdue, but I’m so excited to share these photos with you all.

I’m so grateful to have had the opportunity to photograph Tracy and Mackenzie.  Tracy and I have been acquaintances for the past couple of years, but we hadn’t yet had the chance to get to know each other.

I would like to say thank you to our mutual friend, Jen, who hired me to take these photos as a gift to Tracy who is in the midst of battling cancer for the third time.  Tracy has been an amazing inspiration to many, many people by facing this difficult time with grace, humor and tremendous faith.  I was honored to be chosen to take these photos and to spend a morning with these two incredible people.  Mackenzie is an absolute charmer.  At the end of the session as I was trailing a bit behind them, Mackenzie extended her hand to me making sure that I wasn’t too far behind.  Excuse me while I sop up my melted heart!

It was hard to choose just a few to share, so this post a bit long.  Here are some favorites from the day:

One of the main reasons I like to shoot portraits at people’s homes is because the settings are so much more meaningful than some generic neutral backdrop.  One of Tracy’s favorite places is this wooden swing on her front porch where she’s spent many hours reading her Bible here, trying to find peace while dealing with her cancer.

I love the dreaminess of this next photo and how Tracy is keeping a watchful eye on Mackenzie…

A private moment between Mom and daughter.  Love those leg hugs!

Mackenzie chose her own prop.  She picked this mum herself…

Some detail shots… Mackenzie has a beautiful blue dress that has so many incredible details!  And more reasons to shoot at home…the butterfly mobile is one of Tracy’s favorite things in Mackenzie’s room and the wooden play table was made by a friend of Mackenzie’s Grandfather–Papa Villers.  He gave it to Mackenzie’s older cousins who are now in college and senior year of high school.  It got passed to her younger cousins who outgrew it and passed it to her just recently.

All dressed and ready for her tea party…

Now this next photo is for all my moms out there who are worried about the outfits for portrait sessions. Don’t get me wrong, I love the cute dresses and little suits and ties, but check out the expressions in the next two photos after we changed into regular old play clothes!

Tracy and Mackenzie enjoying the fall foliage…

Thank you for such a wonderful day!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

