My Thank You Party…Part 1

So, I Had a Party…

Two weekends ago, I hosted an open house for my clients, friends, and family to say thank you for all the support and encouragement they have given me this past year.  Not only have I been blessed by all of the people who have welcomed me into their homes, intimate family gatherings and celebrations, but I have also been generously helped by many people along the way.  This party was an expression of my gratitude for all who have made this work of capturing and preserving life’s milestones possible.

I have a few reflections about this party that I’d like to share with folks, so I’m going to make this a multi-part post.  For example, I didn’t get to take many photos of my own party!  Ha!  A point that I’ll talk about more in upcoming posts.  So, reluctantly, I share with you the few photos I was able to snap before things really got started:

These next few are from my friend, Colleen’s iPhone!  Thanks, Colleen!

Clearly, we love food!

So, this first post is to say, well…thanks! With more than 90 guests coming in and out throughout the day, I could not have pulled it off without the help of my family and friends…

Some Shout Outs

I would like to thank some ridiculously helpful people who helped me bring this party together:

Colleen with her beautiful girls, Carly and Gillian, with a "g"

Colleen with her beautiful girls, Carly and Gillian, with a "G"

Colleen Greenway—  You might remember my friend, Colleen (a.k.a. The Crazy Canadian), from an earlier post about the holiday boutique we exhibited at together.  Colleen sells fabulous accessories, handbags, purses and more through her store Between Friends (a great source for bridesmaids gift, girls!  Just a note, her website is undergoing some changes, so if you would like more information about her goods, just email me and I’ll put you in touch.). Last fall, I photographed Colleen, her girls (pictured above) and their dogs.

As soon as I told Colleen what I wanted to do with this party, she jumped in with both feet!  Colleen lived up to her nickname and baked an amazing variety of cookies and desserts for the party.  If you sampled any of the delicious and beautiful lemon squares, buckeyes, brownies, ginger cookies, or mini chocolate chip cookies, those were all courtesy of Colleen.   But wait, there’s more…Colleen also helped me get everything plated and presented in the last few minutes before the party started.  Truly, I could not have gotten everything together without her help.  And wait, there’s even more, Colleen also introduced me to the wonderfully talented Angela Jolliffe of…

Angela is a budding business woman, too, and provided the amazing the cupcakes and flower cookies (which she designed to reflect my business logo…brilliant, Angela!  Thank you so much!) which were the takeaway gifts at the party.   If you saw her super cute wedding dress, onesie and dog bone cookies, you know that she is able to come up with great ideas for showers and parties of all kinds!  I will be doing some product photography for Angela very soon, so stay tuned to both her blog and mine!

Next, I want to say a HUGE THANKS to my lovely friends, Rachel and Kristen Metzger.  I met these two young women at Parkside Church’s Green Campus earlier this year.  Here they are singing at church:

Rachel and her dad, John

Kristen, pictured in the center

I asked these lovely young ladies if they would assist me in serving my guests at my open house.  These girls are grace embodied!  I knew that these sweet girls would look after my guests with kindness and love.  I just can’t say enough about them!  Thank you, Rachel and Kristen!

A huge thanks to Joe Durbin and Allison Brown, my babysitters extraordinaire!  These two kept the 3-foot and under crew entertained and busy!

I am deeply indebted to the Brown family– Michele, Matt, Calvin and Chloe, who stayed all day and helped me clean up.  You know how there are certain people who you don’t mind helping you with the clean up?  Well, Michele was my college roommate for four years, so she’s seen it all!  I don’t mind having her see my messes!  Ha!  Calvin and Chloe, thank you so much!  You were both wonderful helpers!

Chloe and Calvin at Christmas

To my generous and brilliant friend, Kelly Lee, in Philadelphia:  She is the voice of reason and guidance whenever I start planning big things like this.  Thanks for keeping me grounded, Kelly!  You can add another star to your tiara!

Thanks, too, to Jennifer and Dan Krieger and The Krieger family at large, who lent me a wide assortment of serving platters and airpots for my hot chocolate bar.  To Melissa Moldvay for lending me her various cooking tools and her hilarious Pampered Chef icing tool which is basically just a caulking gun for icing!  And to The Holmes family for lending me their beautiful and handy beverage dispenser!

And last, but not least, the most thanks to my family who helped me with food, set up and tear down, and just moral support in general.

 

Leave a Reply

