Julia & Derek’s Wedding Celebration

I first met Derek when he was the best man at Julie and Dan Schrickel’s wedding in 2008.  I have loved being a part of so many of this group of friends’ weddings!  Julia and Derek were married at The Historic Church of St. Patrick (amazing and beautiful building!) in Toledo followed by a super fun reception at the Park Inn Hotel downtown.

I would like to say a special thank you to Julia’s Aunt Marge who very graciously hosted me Friday night after the rehearsal.  It felt like I was at a well-appointed bed-and-breakfast. Marge had chocolates on my pillow, a guest basket of toiletries waiting in the guest room, and had a lovely breakfast of bagels, fresh fruit salad, and yogurt waiting for me when I woke up!  Thank you so much for the very kind and wonderful hospitality!

There was a crazy windstorm late Friday night which actually pushed some people off the highways and shut down Julia’s hair salon, but Saturday was a beautiful day for a wedding.  Here are some of my favorites from Julia and Derek’s wedding:

The Historic Church of St. Patrick

The rehearsal

Julia is what they mean when people say "cute as a button"

Rehearsal dinner at one of Julia's cousin's restaurants in Toledo.

Julia's dad

Julia's mom

Groomsmen gifts packaged in re-purposed cigar boxes...love it!

It's like Christmas! What'd I get?

Cigar boxes are cool, but nothing quite beats a little blue box from Tiffany

I love Julia's dad's reaction

Derek's mom with Julia

So sweet...

Aunt Marge...so lovely

Since I stayed overnight in Toledo, I was able to catch the boys at their morning golf outing.

Chili dogs and Gatorade, breakfast of champions

The fellas

Julia's brother was a little camera shy

Derek is a true sports fan and being on the course made him happy

Kyle is one of my favorite groomsmen ever! We've been at several weddings together now!

Plus, he's a great golfer which I love! Here, he's just holed out for an eagle! Way to go, Kyle, and nice leap!

To all you groomsmen out there, I love that you want to golf, but please use sunscreen so I don't have lobster faces at the wedding!

Apparently, these bricks are hard to come by and are meaningful to OU alumni...

Derek helped design Julia's engagement ring...beautiful job, Derek!

The view from my hotel room overlooking the Mud Hens stadium

I love that Julia's maid of honor was two-fisting a Starbucks coffee and a glass of champagne!

A little note from Julia

Julia's cousins were so much fun!

Julia found these awesome gold shoes from J. Crew

Julia's cousin was so sweet...she's a happy crier

From the choir loft

Before there were microphones, there were giant, scallop-shell amplifiers

Mr. and Mrs. Derek Dalton

Julia, Derek, and Julia's Busia (grandmother in Polish?). Soooo cute!!

Our location for photos was occupied by the Latino Festival when we got there, but one of the organizers very graciously allowed us in for free to get our photos done.

I was able to get a photo of the girls (thank you, ladies!), but the boys couldn't resist being near the food and drink trucks at the festival. No idea where they went!

Another favorite wedding couple of mine. I think they just follow me from wedding to wedding to get this one photo! Ha, just kidding!

The view from my hotel room of the Mud Hens stadium at midnight! Kids running around all over the place! Too fun!

Thanks so much, Derek and Julia!  I had an amazing time in Toledo with all of your family and friends!  Yours is definitely one of my favorite weddings and one that I will never forget!  Thank you so much for everything!

Tagged , , ,

4 thoughts on “Julia & Derek’s Wedding Celebration

  1. Derek Dalton says:

    Beautifully done Julie… you are an amazing photographer and i’m sure we’ll meet again at the next OU wedding.

  2. Julie says:

    Thanks so much, Derek! Yes, I’m definitely looking forward to the next OU wedding and seeing both you and Julia soon! Hope you are doing well!

  3. Kathryn Rahal says:

    So beautiful…I can’t stop looking at them!

    • Julie says:

      Hello Mrs. Rahal! Thank you so much for taking the time to read Julia and Derek’s blog post and leaving a comment! I am so glad to see that you are enjoying the photos!

Leave a Reply

